How to become a certified scrum master?

Certified Scrum Master CSM
Certified Scrum Master CSM

Becoming a Certified Scrum Master (CSM) is a significant step in advancing your career in the field of agile project management. Scrum, a popular agile framework, is widely adopted in the software development industry and beyond. A CSM certification not only enhances your job prospects but also demonstrates your expertise in Scrum practices. In this article, we’ll guide you through the process of becoming a Certified Scrum Master.

Step 1: Understand Scrum Fundamentals

Before diving into certification, it’s crucial to have a strong foundation in Scrum principles and practices. Start by reading Scrum’s official guide, “The Scrum Guide,” which provides a concise overview of Scrum’s roles, events, and artifacts. Additionally, explore books, blogs, and online resources to deepen your understanding.

Link: scrum guide

Step 2: Enroll in a CSM Course

To become a Certified Scrum Master, you must attend a Scrum Alliance-approved CSM course. These courses are typically two-day immersive experiences led by Certified Scrum Trainers (CSTs). During the course, you’ll learn Scrum concepts, engage in practical exercises, and gain insights from experienced instructors. It’s a great opportunity to ask questions and collaborate with fellow participants.

Step 3: Active Participation

Active participation is crucial throughout the CSM course. Be engaged, ask questions, and contribute to discussions. Remember that Scrum is all about collaboration and teamwork, so practicing these principles during the course is essential.

Step 4: Pass the CSM Exam

After completing the CSM course, you’ll receive an email invitation to take the CSM exam. The online exam consists of multiple-choice questions and is designed to test your knowledge of Scrum. You have 60 minutes to complete it, and you must score at least 74% to pass. It’s essential to review your course materials and Scrum Guide thoroughly before attempting the exam.

Step 5: Join the Scrum Alliance

Once you pass the CSM exam, you’ll need to join the Scrum Alliance, a global organization that supports Scrum practitioners. Membership offers access to valuable resources, networking opportunities, and a platform to showcase your certification. Pay the required fee to complete your registration.

Step 6: Claim Your Certification

After joining the Scrum Alliance, you can log in to your account, claim your CSM certification, and download your certificate. Congratulations! You are now a Certified Scrum Master.

Step 7: Continuing Education

To maintain your CSM certification, you must earn Scrum Education Units (SEUs) by participating in ongoing learning and professional development activities. This ensures that you stay up-to-date with evolving Scrum practices.

Step 8: Apply Scrum in Real Projects

The true value of a CSM certification lies in your ability to apply Scrum principles in real-world projects. Seek opportunities to work as a Scrum Master or collaborate closely with Scrum teams to gain practical experience.


Becoming a Certified Scrum Master is a significant achievement in your agile journey. It signifies your commitment to mastering Scrum practices and opens doors to exciting career opportunities. Remember that Scrum is a dynamic framework, and continuous learning and application are key to your success as a CSM. Start your journey today, and embrace the world of agile project management!

(Visited 53 times, 1 visits today)
About Judicaël Paquet 368 Articles
Judicaël Paquet (agile coach and senior devops) My Engagements in France and Switzerland: - Crafting Agile Transformation Strategies - Tailored Agile Training Programs - Raising Awareness and Coaching for Managers - Assessing Agile Maturity and Situational Analysis - Agile Coaching for Teams, Organizations, Product Owners, Scrum Masters, and Agile Coaches Areas of Expertise: Scrum, Kanban, Management 3.0, Scalability, Lean Startup, Agile Methodology.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.